English B paper 1 and 2 HL

mm8888

I remember this one question about Tanisha (?) being ... during Christmas with family. And I thought the answers about her being 'bored' were misleading - cause she was bored 'now'. And I wasn't sure about what 'dismal' means. I associated it with sth like 'sad' etc., but then no answer matched, so I thought maybe if 'mal' is 'bad' and 'dis' is used is to negate than 'dismal' will be good ;x, so I went with 'cheerful' which was, obviously, wrong.

As to Paper 2 - I enjoyed writing, especially Section A. I know I can show off with some sophisticated language and I kind of did, but I'm not sure how well I managed to get the 'message' :D.

I choose 'debate speech' (high five Gaby)

Oh, and I disagreed - just to show my critical thinking, cause generally I'm not patriotic at all ;x.

Edited by lilianna009

me too! I like speeches and it was the only sensible topic ;d but I'm not good at sticking to the topic so they might as well take some points for this.. I wrote quite a lot about acceptance in a society in general, probably because I was revising social identity theory the day before :lol: and then I was like "what was I supposed to write about?" That often happens to me, that's why I'm not sure how it went, but eventually I tried to conclude with something related to the topic XD

I'm also a bit worried that I might have written like 10 words above the limit in both sections, hope nobody is gonna count it...

As for Tanisha, I was also thinking about 'dismal' but then I found another sentence when it said that it was dull back home (don't remember it exactly) and I decided to go for bored ;d

Edited by maereth

I wrote above the limit too, just a bit. They won't count, I'm pretty sure. My speech was very... speechy. lol I just tried to think what I'd say if I came about delivering something like this, and went with the flow. It'd have been much better if there hadn't been this damn word limit...