Chemistry TZ2 HL Paper 3

silver*linings

How did everyone find it and which options did you do?

We were all taught only Human biochem and Modern analytical at our college, and being a physicist I detested revising biochem as you had to learn SO MUCH! Consequently I had no idea what an iodine number was, but actually it wasn't too bad.

Analytical had some weird questions in it such as the why do compounds with C double bonds absorb IR radiation, just blabbered on about pi bonds abit although i swear in reality it is due to molecular changes in polarity, but couldn't see how to relate the two!

The H NMR one I found slightly odd as well because it seemed like none of those circled H environments should have produced a singlet splitting pattern, in the end it just went down to which fitted the ppm value.

All in all,I found that it followed the general paper 3 trend of confusingly-worded questions and some obscure bits of the syllabus and I came out feeling that I would be pleased with anything over 50%, thankfully papers 1+2 went well for me, what are your opinions?

I did Option B(biochemistry) and E(environmental). Overall i thought it was Easy. Iodine number was the amount of iodine that Adds to 100 Gram of the compound. So you Devide the molar mass of iodine by the given molar mass and multiply by 100. The answer was around 86. The only challenging thing for me in option be was the respiration question. I was not sure war exactly happened to pyrivate. I said it was oxidized in both aerobic and anaerobic respiration. I was not totally sure about the products either, I said glucose and co2 in aerobic and lactic acid+ ATP in anaerobic

In option E I was not sure what to do to reverse the acidity. So I said add lime water. And then I am not queue sure if I did the salt calculations thing right. But other than that I am pretty confident about paper 3. It could actually be a 7 :)

@ johanna st

I did environmental and bio as well