Difference between SL and Ab initio?

Thanks! So is the Ab initio test easier than SL?

No. Ab Initio people know less French, so it's hard for them. If you wanted a comparison, it would be like you taking a Uni level paper. Free writing is easy, but the comprehension is where many fall.

I do Ab Initio, but I've 10 years of French under my belt. Not exactly a beginner.

No. Ab Initio people know less French, so it's hard for them. If you wanted a comparison, it would be like you taking a Uni level paper. Free writing is easy, but the comprehension is where many fall.

I do Ab Initio, but I've 10 years of French under my belt. Not exactly a beginner.

And they let you do ab initio? That's not exactly the way it should be... I've been learning English for 11 years and I'm taking B HL.....

Yeah I'm rather surprised too that they let you do Ab initio French after having learnt it already for 10 years...How on earth is it justifiable? I've been doing French for only 6 years (although for the first 2 we didn't learn anything, so really it's been learning French for 4 years, 2 of which were actually during the IB) and I'm doing French B.

OP, basically ab initio is, as you said, from the beginning. It's for those who have no background to the language. Obviously it would seem easier if you were actually at B standard, but because they're learning from scratch for two years it's harder for them.

Ab initio is easier in the sense that students can start from the very basics, but it's difficult because the ab initio students go at a very fast pace. From what I understand, at the end of IB the ab initio kids will be at the level of B SL - 2 years compared to my 5 years. It can be a bit overwhelming.