How hard is it to score high points in IB?

millionbucks

Hi you guys,

I'm hoping to start IB next year and I have read A LOT of forums with many people saying how hard

it is and stuff.. But I will see that next year.

I just have one question: you graduate when you have 28 points right, so 38 points is - relatively -

a lot above that. I am an HAVO student in the Netherlands now, which is the one level beneath the

highest level here (VWO; you can go straight to uni then). Though my teachers say my current education

is lower than what I'm capable of, I am a bit afraid that 36 or 38 points will be hard to achieve. I am

ready to learn a lot and give up things, cause this is what I want (and what i will pay a big amount of

money for), but it could be above my level, you know? Cause getting 7,6,6 HL is like (almost) perfect!

So I was browsing through all kinds of topics and I see many people stating that they got predicted scores

like 36, 38 and stuff, so it seems kind of "standard" (note the quotes please), or is it because you guys

are all really smart?

I know there are kinda similiar topics about this out there, but I just wanted to ask this specific question

so that's why.

Wow, I see a big text now, so I will just ask the question again: how hard is it to score 36 or 38 points?

Many many many many thanks in advance!

• Like 1

I can only give you an answer that is may seem limited. Generally, it is not HARD, yet, it is no walk in the park. Any grade you are seeking to obtain will need hard work. Since you need to enter IB in the first point, start thinking of what subjects you will be taking (this helps a lot in terms of getting a higher grade.) Next, don't consider IB very hard, think of it this way (thousands and thousands of students are graduating every year therefore it IS possible.) Last, once you do enter IB, work hard, focus on Internal Assesments (since they are a good 10 points maybe more even) and do not forget the external exams.