Mandarin

Guest Welle

Guest PollyPeptide

I don't study it at school, but since I speak this language.. I don't actually think it's very hard, at least not in the beginning. Grammar-wise it's dead easy. You just have to get used to the whole system. But ab initio is usually not very hard, so it should be ok :P

• 3 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...
  • 4 months later...

I'm taking Mandarin B SL. Comparing the syllabus between B and ab initio, the latter is immensely easier. However, if your first language is english, spanish or french, you will have a harder time with the sentence construction than people whose native language is japanese. The disparity between the accent and pronunciation of english and mandarin is also very significant. Good luck though. :P

Hi,

I will study the IB next year and want to take Mandain ab initio. Anyone here who has studyed this language so far? Is it very difficult?

thanks

Hey I have been doing Chinese (Mandarin) B for 4 years at the end of this year and I will be contining to do it throughout my IB. In Chinese B, you need to remember a large number characters for essays, remember your sentence structures well; in all forms whether it be past tense or present form, and know different styles of writing styles whether it be e-mails, diary entries or a letter to a friend. Chinese B will only become difficult if you don't put the effort in, especially due to remembering a large vocabulary! (I'm sure many ppl here will agree!)

Although with Chinese AB initio i'm not sure how much more or less difficult it will be.

Hi,

I will study the IB next year and want to take Mandain ab initio. Anyone here who has studyed this language so far? Is it very difficult?

thanks