is 2 weeks of studying enough to ace the SAT?

JustAnotherAsian

No amount of studying will prepare you for an sort of standardized test in my opinion. The whole test is your reasoning capabilities. I personally have no taken it so I'm not sure how it goes but from that I'm betting they aren't going to throw basic math and science questions at you but will be more along the lines of finding whatever answer using any random knowledge pertaining to the issue.

Goodluck acing any test really, they aren't made to be easy :D

Depends on what you define as "ace."

2350 is considered very high, so I'll just use that as my reference point.

I studied for a week, about five hours a day, (for the five days before the test) and scored a 2260. However, I do not believe that it is possible to do something like that unless you are on break, and are willing to set aside hours of time aside from the studying in order to take practice tests.

I think that if you do your studying for two weeks, and then intersperse your monthly study dates with practice test dates, you could probably score a 2400 (if testing conditions and other subjective factors are favorable). Actually, from my knowledge of the test, and my own experience, if anyone sets aside that much time and effort, it would be difficult to score less than 2200.

Good Luck!!

:D

Not sure. I did pretty well without studying, and I think studying very hard might have bumped up my score a bit. But I would estimate your maximum range of improvement to be something like 100-150 (at best!) ... I know people who've taken a full length practice test every day for five days and improved something like 60 points. It's an aptitude test, maybe, or perhaps a test of your accumulated knowledge over a lifetime (probably a bit of both). Not something you can study for in the traditional sense.

Do it now, so that you do not have to manage your IB exams on top of SAT.