Aprehensive about my IB Choices

ondele

Hello! I am a soon to be IB student :P and well I have chosen my subject choices I have chosen to do:

English HL

Chinese ab

History HL

Maths Studies

Biology SL

Philosophy HL

I feel unsure whether to take Maths Studies and an ab initio language. How is this viewed by universities? Because to me having these two subjects make me sound less dedicated(?).

I feel I am hopeless at maths (I am a B grade student) hence my teachers have suggested to do studies because I lack confidence it in and I agree. I want to do Chinese ab initio being Chinese and not being able to speak it is really the reason why I want to do it. My parents also like the idea of me studying Chinese too. I do have experience with two other languages: French which I gained an A grade in year 10 and Russian which I am very strong at and I am predicted quite high in GCSE for it. But I don't want to do French or Russian simply because they now bore me and I love learning new languages. I fear that by not carrying on learning one language from GCSE to IB make me appear less commited and a poor candidate when it comes to Universities.

So should I change my choices when I go back to school in September? Or will I be okay?

My plans for the future involve going to university to study History or Law if it helps. And depending on my GCSE exam results I am considering to apply for Cambridge University. Thank you for all your help. Sorry for any grammar and spelling errors.

First off, I strongly recommend you take at least Standard Level Mathematics. Math Studies, in my honest opinion, is a waste of time and is looked down upon by many (if not all) universities. In essence, Math Studies is for those with NO mathematical ability whatsoever. That doesn't sound like you, so please switch over to SL Math, you'll thank yourself later. Besides, don't you feel kind of ashamed taking such a low level course.