Complete beginner taking Spanish ab initio

Guest ly77

Hello everyone,

I need advice on taking Spanish ab initio as a complete beginner!

I decided not to do Mandarin B for IB only recently, so switched over to the only alternative- Spanish ab initio.

The issue is now that I have to pick up this extremely new language. I know the ab initio courses are designed for the complete beginner, but through talking to my friends and reading some other posts, I know that most people who take an ab initio language already have a little experience in it or are proficient in a similar language (like French is to Spanish). My only background in other "similar" languages is the 6 months of French I did in lower Secondary (so basically I can count to ten and say a few phrases). I really enjoy learning languages, and I really want to do well. Many people have also told me that it shouldn't be too difficult for me to pick up a new language after learning Mandarin for so long.

Has anyone been in my situation with Spanish or another language!? Any advice regarding how the ab initio course is structured to accommodate total beginners and how to do well learning Spanish from scratch while trying to excel in other subjects at the same time would be greatly appreciated! :)

Edited by meowlilly

I am taking French ab initio right now. I also took Spanish for a while but felt I wasn't prepared enough to take Spanish B so I took my next best alternative: french ab initio. I also don't live anywhere in Europe and don't really know anyone from France. But I think french has been fine so far. I just try to pay attention in class, ask my teacher for help and refer to YouTube videos. Who knows, maybe Spanish will be useful for you one day? I know, that it is very likely that French will be useful for me depending on where I live.