My Course Selection for Next Year & Some Questions

MichaelOD27

Hi,

I'm a Canadian student in Grade 10 who's going to be entering the IB program next year. Right now my choices are:

HL Economics

HL Computer Science

HL Math

SL History

SL English

SL Spanish Ab Initio

I'm pretty nervous about taking HL Math for the next two years. I have always been a relatively good math student, and I do have a passion for stats. However, I keep on hearing people say how much work that HL Math is. The main problem is that most Canadian schools are fine with me taking SL Math (for commerce, the program I want to go into) as long as I finish my calculus credit during the summer after Grade 12 (as SL Math does not complete the Ontario Calculus credit required for most commerce programs, while HL does). So, my main dilemma is whether I should take HL Math and put in more effort and likely get a lower mark but not have to spend the extra 20 or so hours after Grade 12 finishing the credit and have a potentially better looking university resume due to a more challenging high school schedule or take SL Math and score better with less effort but having to do the extra work at the end of the year. My advisor says I am borderline in ability as to which Math course I should take and it would not be a stretch for me to take HL History instead of SL if I were to switch my Math course. Any advice from anyone who has/had a similar problem would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I have been looking around on this site and others, and I have not found too much information on Computers HL. If anyone has/is taking it, how hard is it relative to your other courses?