Enlish A: Language and literature HL or English B HL?

Hi, everyone!

This September I'm starting IB Diploma programme and now I have to choose IB courses. I'm thinking about English A: Language and literature HL, because I like reading and writing but I'm not sure whether my English is good enough for English A course... I guess, it's for native speakers only, isn't it? Also, I would like to know what is the differences between English B HL and English A: Language and Literature HL? Because either way, I'm going to take one of these...

• 1 month later...

Language and Literature HL is pretty easy even if you're not a native speaker. You just need to know how to dissect a text and take messages out of it and analyze it. With a good english teacher, anyone can do Language and Literature HL. I say do it. I started learning English 6 years ago and I got a high 5 in English A1 HL which is significantly harder than Language and Literature (it is not offered anymore. The last session was 2012). I know people who are studying Language and Literature HL now and it's really nothing to worry about. We studied 15 books for A1 and Lang. and Lit. only requires 2-3 books. It's all comparative study, language in media, and such! It's not hard at all. I say it's mostly common sense and dosen't have much to do with your control over the english language (but that's a personal opinion - don't kill me). I think you should do it and just work a bit harder if you need to. You can always get help with your stuff here or anywhere else on the internet. Language B requires you to take IELS and such for your university and you can't even get a full diploma if you choose to do it.

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...