Question about Canadian Universities

supershivz27

Hi everyone,

Whenever I look at university admission websites, they say you need to have a total of x points to get into the program. Which is fine, but my question is - does that mean as long as my final total is 36, for example, I'm in?

Like I'm a poor math student, but I excel in courses like biology, history and chemistry. And the worst case scenario is getting a 3 or 4 in math, but can I still get into a Life Sci program here?

Thanks guys, I'm just super worried.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi everyone,

Whenever I look at university admission websites, they say you need to have a total of x points to get into the program. Which is fine, but my question is - does that mean as long as my final total is 36, for example, I'm in?

Like I'm a poor math student, but I excel in courses like biology, history and chemistry. And the worst case scenario is getting a 3 or 4 in math, but can I still get into a Life Sci program here?

Yes, I believe so. My understanding is that in general Canadian universities will only require you to do well in your main subjects. I got a 3 in chemistry SL because I hate chemistry but that didn't pose any problems for me.

• Like 1

You can get into quite a few Canadian unis for life sci with a 3/4 in math SL. For example UBC science only requires a 3 in math SL for consideration, and UBC is pretty reputable.

But if you're from Canada, they will look at your percentage grades before they consider your IB grades. They may not even consider your IB grades at all if your percentage grades are good enough for admission.

But if you want to have a look at the IB requirements, here you go (I'll list the ones you tagged in your post)

McGill requires a 6 in math (SL or HL, they don't care) and a 6 in two science courses (SL or HL). http://www.mcgill.ca...g/standards/ib/