IB MYP - Plagiarism - I seriously need help...

jw10029

Hi everyone, so I'm now in my final year of the MYP Programme and I heard that there will be tons of assessments sent for moderation. I recently finished a science research essay that will be sent for moderation and I copied quite a lot of stuff from an online essay. I submitted my work through Turnitin.com and surprisingly, the system detected only 10% of plagiarism. Will IB find out that I copied most of my stuff from an online source? Thanks!

If you cited all your sources then you should have no problem. Turnitin picks up strings of text that match text in other files in its database, but if you've acknowledged your sources, it's not considered plagiarism. 10% similarity is pretty low assuming you have cited your sources.

Edited by ninety
  • Like 2

Thank you guys so much for your responses. Your replies are extremely helpful and valuable to me. After all, I realized that I should NEVER EVER cheat or plagiarize on my assessments. By the way, I heard that if you are caught for plagiarizing in DP, you will get a big fat zero. Is that true? Thanks!

It`s possible, but probably unlikely. You should,hopefully, learn from this and stop cheating though... Cheating in MYP is probably like a slap on the wrist, but it`s not something you want to do again.

Thanks Vol de Mort, but what if they do find out that I cheated on my essay? Will I get kicked out of school or fail my MYP? Thanks!

Yes, if the IB catches you with plagiarizing on something they are moderating such as world lit, extended essay etc, they will not let you get the diploma that year so you have to sit for the following exams. Happened to a student at my school, and he lost his diploma, apparently it was absolutely ridiculous and he should not have been accused for plagiarizing, the school even tried to convince the IB but there was nothing they could do.

• Like 1