which IB Course choice..pls help

Anand

Hi/Hola/Hello,

I am torn between chosing one of the options below for my IB courses: These are the only 2 choices I have left:

option 1:

HL - English, History, Biology

SL - French, Maths, Chemistry

option 2:

HL - English, Psychology, Chemistry

SL - French, Math, History

English HL and Spanish SL, Math SL are fixed and not changable. I have to take History either HL or SL.

So the choices are whether to take History and Biology HL or Psychology and Chemistry HL. On one hand I have heard that History HL needs lots of Memorization, has a extra exam paper which requires one to remember previous year History topics and coverage is lot more detailed in History HL than History SL. I am not very good at memorization, relating facts that I have read earlier etc.. On other than I heard that taking Biology in HL is better than Chemistry HL.

For option 2 I heard taking Psychology HL is also about writing lots of eassays, infrential statistics, analysis, justifications etc..and that Chemistry HL is much harder than Chemistry SL, in fact one the toughest subjects,with equation calculations etc...

I am afraid of History, due to fact that History HL will cover History in lot more detail, more detail that History SL. Also the fact that if I took History HL, then for the exams I have to remember 11th class history lessons when I take IB exam, what if I dont remember the 11th class history well?? I have to take History, either HL or SL. Question is,is History HL lot more tougher than History SL? I know there is a extra paper in History HL, is that really tough? How does it compare with Psychology HL?

If I can do History SL is it true that I might as well be able to do the History HL? is there a vast difference or is potion 2 better where I take History SL, but then I am having to take Chemistry HL.

Thanks,

Ruwakat

You have to not only consider the difficulty of the subjects but also what you want to study at uni.