History HL - Paper 3

Ika Lob

Which questions did you do and how did you find the paper?

I studied a lot for Italian unification and it just so happened that it was the first time in the history of the IB when a question on Italian unification required the knowledge of German unification also. When I read it, I was already thinking of how I would retake the exam in November.

However, luckily, there were a few very open-ended question that I took advantage of. At the end, all 5 of my essays were on Hitler :D

I did:

1. The impact of Wold War I on the domestic affairs one country (Germany)

2. The effects of The Great Depression on one country (Germany)

3. Evaluating the domestic policies of Hitler between 1933-1939.

All went well, expect that I only had 25-30 minutes for the last question but that was fine also.

So it has been 24 hours, what did people think of it? Personally, i think it was the hardest paper that has ever been released by the IBO. I spent a lot of time looking at past papers and this was without a doubt that most difficult one that i have seen. But i know that people study different topics so maybe it was just me with my topics that found it hard. How did everyone find it?

There wasnt a thread on this yet... has anyone ever seen a paper 2/3 combination amongst past papers on which there was (apart from the absurd left-wing-influence-on-art thing) not a single question you could answer on Lenin, and only one on foreign policy? Also, NOTHING on the usual post-war/effects of war which you could twist to the WWs; NOTHING about WWII in paper 3; nothing whatsoever about Spain; and an absurd amount of Germany/Italy pre-WWI. And incredibly little on Russia in general, no Khrushchev, Brezhnev, no Tsars.