IB music possible in one year?

Dominic Wolf

I am close to finishing my IB year 1 and I might be changing schools next year to do my second year of IB, the problem is that in my new school they do not offer Psychology HL and I would have to replace it by music HL.

I have been playing guitar for seven years and I like to think I have mastered the instrument, nevertheless I do not feel confident reading music sheets or doing solfege. is it possible for me to do music HL in one year ?

Let me know what you think about my situation.

• 3 weeks later...

In my school we only offer Music SL. We only have class twice a week over the two years, making it possible for some to take it in one year being in both the first year and second year class. This is only possible because we have it structured where the first year is largely theory and the second year is history. As for HL, I'm not sure how this would work because I don't know how much more you have to do. Most of the class does not matter too much about your instrumental skills, more of your comprehension of sheet music and what you hear. I'm fairly sure you could do it if you work hard enough though, assuming the school does allow you to do the class in one year.

Ok, well, at my school we take grade 11 IB music semester 1, and grade 12 IB music second semester, so it definitely is possible. It's not preferred, since it's very fast, but it is possible.

IB music is 50% performance, 30% exam and 20% MLI (musical links investigation), so a good understanding of an instrument/how to sing is a must, and being able to pick up and remember music theory and history is a good thing to have. If you think you can do that, than you'll do fine in IB Music ;)