(self taught) The Perfume + The Picture of Dorian Gray

bLub

Hi there,

basically, my oral presentation is at the end of April. I'm doing self taught (German) and I started writing the presentation on 2 books (the perfume and the picture of Dorian Gray) presenting the theme of obsession. However, now a friend of mine, who has studied literature, said, that obsession isn't a good theme to pick (it's hard to define what obsession is...). But I've already written so much on it (I mostly flicked through and picked out every bits that are connected with obsession...) and don't want to start it all over again. What do you think??

are you another self-taught student as well? have you already had your oral? Was it hard...?

Thank you so much for your help!!

Edited by bLub

I do self-taught and I'm only in year 12 so haven't done my oral nor read the books. You do know for your presentation you need to talk about 3 works.

I'm going to do perfume for my part 4 too, I love the story. Anyway, I think the theme on obsessions is great, ignore your friend. As long as you can reference and give concrete examples from your works denoting well drawn examples of obsession than your more than alright. In fact if it's something that may seem intricate like 'obsession' it is a plus since it shows you can talk about things less tangible and as a result your originality is present.

What's your 3rd book?

I agree with Sandwich. You have to compare at least two works. So you can do three [or four, if I remember correctly] but my teacher definitely recommended 2 or 3 so that we could go more in depth.

My teacher also warned against talking about themes. This was just to get us away from superficiality so that we could analyze more critically. Plus a theme is really broad. So if you present your theme in different light and focus your topic, I guess you'll be fine =) G'luck.