Mandarin B SL

Next year I really want to take IB mandarin B SL but I'm not sure if I'll be able to because i've heard it's really hard. I don't have a chinese background but I've been studying it for 3 years. We haven't learnt much though because my teachers are quite bad.

My other option is spanish ab initio but I'd really like to take mandarin because I really like the language.

If I get a tutor and start working on my mandarin now do you think I'll be able to take it next year (school year starts Feb)?

How many characters do you need to know? And has anyone with a non-chinese background ever done well at it?

I'd love for any IB students to share your experience :coffee:

Um well it would depend on your skills now. My school has made studying Chinese mandatory since the primary years so I know some people that came a few years ago without knowing anything about it and their Chinese seems to be fine. I have been taking Chinese since I was five but somewhere along the way forgot most of it and now I am a disgrace to my years of education; I can barely put together a grammatically correct sentence!

... And yet Chinese BSL is fine for me.

But yeah... if you're still counting the number of words you know then I'm not sure if you're ready to take it as an IB course. In the exam there'll be reading a passage and answering questions on it, and there'll be a writing part where you write one of their prompts. My teacher says there's usually a letter or email involved in that one. And there are a few orals dotted through the year. I forget what else there is but if you're not confident in your ability to read/write/speak at that level by the end of IB then don't risk your grade since you can still learn Chinese without taking it for IB. :coffee:

• 2 weeks later...

I took Mandarin B SL last year and chose HL this year. I find Mandarin B HL bearable, even though my writing is atrocious (not the character writing itself, but the actual essay/letter/diary writing).