Skipping a year at university?

Amber

29 members have voted

1. 1. Are you skipping first year university?

• Yes
    • No
    • Maybe

I would strongly recommend against doing that unless you know for a fact that what IB covered is what's covered in those first year courses.

I took chem HL and my first year chem classes (I'm in second year of uni now) covered new material that wasn't in chem HL. And first year chem is the basis for second year biochemistry, organic chemistry, etc. so if I had skipped first year chem, I would be lost in my upper year courses.

I would strongly recommend against doing that unless you know for a fact that what IB covered is what's covered in those first year courses.

I took chem HL and my first year chem classes (I'm in second year of uni now) covered new material that wasn't in chem HL. And first year chem is the basis for second year biochemistry, organic chemistry, etc. so if I had skipped first year chem, I would be lost in my upper year courses.

Oh wow really? I always thought that first year courses covered material that we had already covered in IB. Where are you going to University atm?

Oh wow really? I always thought that first year courses covered material that we had already covered in IB. Where are you going to University atm?

Health sciences at McMaster University.

I took the transfer credits for econ and English HL though, because I wasn't planning on ever taking those courses again..but if you're going into science, I would recommend taking first year chem and bio because even if most of it is review and you already know it, if anything, it gets you used to the format/pacing of lectures, tests, labs, etc. However, if you're going into social sciences/humanities, then obviously go right ahead and take a chem HL credit. Basically if you're going to be building upon that subject in upper years, I would suggest taking it.

• Like 1