Summer camp? or Internship?

Swifty

Hello! I'm new to this IB Survival forum and I think it's magnificent. I am currently a Junior taking IB and I just got through my IOP...

I was wondering. What people have done in the past (and/or are planning to do) for the summer between their Junior and Senior year.

Whether it was something that was incredibly fun and full of experience or if it's educational and perhaps, MAKES YOUR BRAIN BIGGER :D

I want to know your input thanks!!!! :D:) :) :)

I went to France for a month and took language courses because I'm sitting the French HL exam this year. It helped, my speaking improved a lot.

My classmates have gone for Oxford summer IB courses, which are expensive but provide revision over the summer. You also meet lots of IB studnets from all around the world.

Try do something productive. Because I went to France, I was able to mention that on my university application when I applied to study French in university. Probably helped me get in.

Get a summer job, get more CAS hours...something that isn't too stressful, but would help you in the future.

To get the experience of a lifetime I suggest that you attend PSYL(Pearson Seminar on Youth Leadership) during the summer. It's a 3-week leadership camp in Victoria, British Columbia. Costs are reasonable if you really plan on attending (around the ball park of $3000 Canadian).

I went to a science summer camp the summer of my freshman year onto sophomore year in a program in the University of Toronto ;]. I might do it again this year if something is available.

Other than that I'm going to do a traveling (summer!) and find a job and get some CAS hours done.

I'm looking into pre-collegiate college courses. I'm either going to be doing creative writing or a joint course of logic and astronomy or history.

I'll be working on CAS as well- prepping for a half marathon, volunteering at races, animal shelter, that kind of stuff.