How hard is it to manage both Biology HL and Chemistry HL?

6ix god

The title explains it all. I'm a grade 10 student from British Columbia, Canada and I've decided to apply to the IB Diploma Programme. My school has a limited range of courses to choose from, so I have to do my group 1 and 3 at HL. I don't know how hard it would be to do Biology and Chemistry at HL along with my other two HL classes. My subject selection is:

English Literature HL

Spanish Ab Initio SL 

Psychology HL

Biology HL

Chemistry HL

Math SL

ToK

CAS

EE

Do any of you do 4 HL's? How much more difficult is it compared to doing 3? My school does offer Chemistry SL, but it runs with Chemistry HL. So I'm taking Chemistry at HL and if I find it difficult I have the option of switching down to SL. My main two questions are: how difficult is it to manage Chem and Bio at HL and is it doable?

Edited by 6ix god

Hi 6ix god,

I don't take 4 HL's, but I do take bio, chem and English literature HL, and I think its pretty doable. I feel like bio is really just a lot about memorizing and understanding facts/processes etc. while chemistry HL also includes loooots of calculations and theoretical stuff. English literature on the other hand is a pretty fun class, that is, if you like books! A majority of the time all you do in class is analyse the books you're reading in each part of the syllabus and do the respective assessment tasks to them (you need to do a presentation on the option part, an essay for the translated texts and an oral exam for the poetry/2 other novels in that part). Once you have the prez, essay and oral exam out of the way, you basically focus on understanding everything about the last 4 books you read, because you need those for paper 2. And for paper 1 you should do a lot of practice commentaries on prose+poetry.