Preparation of English Lang+ Lit Paper 2

Karan Jain

Can someone help me regarding how to prepare for english lang+lit paper 2. I am an SL student and studying for May 2015 examinations. The books are Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov and The Spirit Catches you and you fall down by Anne Fadiman. Thank u in anticipation

Well, first thing that my teacher has suggested for our end of year papers (I am in HL, and IB1, so consider that), is memorising quotes. Using quotes from the books really helps. Plus, write model answers and show it to your teacher, so that he/she can correct and give an idea to you. Plus, you should have some basic questions right, get an essay plan for each ready, and get your teacher's approval, so you are more stable

• Like 1

Well, first thing that my teacher has suggested for our end of year papers (I am in HL, and IB1, so consider that), is memorising quotes. Using quotes from the books really helps. Plus, write model answers and show it to your teacher, so that he/she can correct and give an idea to you. Plus, you should have some basic questions right, get an essay plan for each ready, and get your teacher's approval, so you are more stable

Thank you!

Know your works inside-out. 

If that means re-reading (maybe a third or fourth time) then make sure to do that. It is never time wasted.

Take every opportunity to discuss them with friends, classmates, room-mates, parents, teachers, your psychiatrist - anyone--- but make sure to include some who know these works and can set you straight on details and basic interpretations.

Then, learn to take apart Paper 2 questions. This is a valuable skill. Use exams from previous years. Practise this skill till you are sure you know HOW to answer them, and answer them FULLY. 

You don't have much time: May is almost on you, so make it a habit to practice or review daily. Regular, practice of even just 30-40 minutes a day is better than 6 hours once a week.