English Literature: Paper 1 & 2

ClaryBee

Hey, it's my first year doing the IB prep year and I'm really struggling with English text analysis and essays(paper 1 and 2) since I have no prior experience to composing essays. I was wondering if anyone had any structure/tips they would be kind enough to share? Thanks in advance:)

IB English is concerned with HOW. How is a certain effect created? You use literary techniques as your main points for each paragraph and have points and quotes to backup each technique.

Introduction: you start with a general idea then work your way to a more focused idea, then your last sentence should be your thesis statement, which lists your main paragraph's ideas. So for example if I'm doing literary techniques to show characterization my thesis could be "(author) uses techinique A, B and C to show characterization." (Of course this is the way I would say it and you should say it in your own voice).

Then your body paragraphs. One will be on technique A, the next will be on B and the next will be on C.

In paragraph A, you have a topic sentence relating to your thesis like technique A shows characterization by doing this.

You then follow PEA/PEE/PEAL/PEEL.

It stands for point, evidence/example, analysis/explanation, link

So for technique A, you would have a point, then you put a quote that proves that point then you explain and analyze the quote, and you link it back to your thesis and you do that again for every point you have. So paragraph A might have several PEAs all related to your main idea. So a point for every piece of evidence.

Example