Should I take Psychology?

totallyace

Whats psychology IB all about? is it hard? i have never taken psychology before in iGCSE as it is not available

IB Psych emphasises analysis and evaluation of different approaches to psychology. Don't expect to just memorise information if you want to succeed, as you would for science subjects. IB Psychology was not very fun for me, even though I'm studying Psychology at uni. Though this may be cause i'm most interested in the humanistic perspective which is not taught at SL.

You won't learn that much cool stuff, all the interesting things I researched on my own - of course this highly depends on your teacher. If this isn't enough check out the IB Psych syllabus (google it), I'll answer any questions as best I can.

In IB, as blindpet has said, Psychology is about the different perspectives (4 at HL and 3 at SL + one option both at HL and SL) in which you can study human behavior.

It would be nice if you could get a copy of the syllabus but what I really recommend you is to talk to people in your school who are doing Psychology and ask them if they love it or not...they will give you a more accurate insight on what psychology is and (very important) how the teacher is.

But I really recommend it to everyone, it is something you can apply in your day to day life and it is very much connected with ToK and Literature (we are reading Oedipus and it is unbelievable the amount of psychological stuff you can find in one simple play). If you like studying human behavior, then go for it. And don't worry if you didn't do it at IGCSE or whatever, I haven't either (only one person in my class has) and we are coping well. No previous knowledge is required for this course I think.

• 3 weeks later...

I am wonddering the same thing too but kind of off topic in the sense that I'm unsure on whether I want to have it either HL or SL. Currently, I'm in year 10 and until the end of this year, I think I can change my subjects around.