maths studes-good/bad for uni?

laura.alfonsi

it is quite obvious that showing up to a uni doing maths studies instead of maths SL/HL isnt very good, but since im not too fond of maths (at all hahahaha) i would prefer to take maths studies as i know for sure that HL/SL will be too challenging for me. i will either start at SL and drop to maths studies or do maths studies directly. the only thing is that im thinking of taking the buisness/economics route for uni, mixed with some languages and psychology which could take me to advertising or something later in life.. im not quite sure of what i'll do so these are just ideas. i wanted to know if maths studies is a subject you guys would recommend to take if i am not too good at maths but aim to go with the buisness/economics route.

thank you in advance!!

Nowadays, unis prefer a better maths student (ex: one that took Maths HL) over a student who takes just an econ class, the main argument being that business and economics will require you to solve problems (in real life) and maths more or less shows your ability to do so (econ is really just theory).

• Like 2

If you want to study Business or Economics at university, Maths SL is a must. Although Maths HL would be very good to have. So I think you should start with Maths SL, and if it gets really tough you can always drop it to studies if you want to :)

Edit: A friend of mine is in the Maths studies class and I looked through his maths studies papers and all the content was a piece of cake, at least in that's what I think about it.

Edited by Lynxarin
  • Like 2