Self-taught language

I don't know if you can self-study your A language but for language B, some people have been taking it out of school

For myself, I've been learning Mandarin outside of school and since Mandarin wasn't an available language at my school for IB, I have to self-study.

You can teach yourself language A; I know someone who is doing that.

I don't know how it works, though I'd suggest speaking to your coordinator about it if you really want to do both language A and B self-taught. That's rather challenging--the person I know is struggling with it because she really isn't sure of what she's doing and she wishes she had a teacher. She's forced to do it because she has to do English B and my school doesn't offer a 'class' for the language she's chosen to do as language A.

I'm not saying that you can't do it, just that it sounds hard.

o:

You can definitely self-study language A, as it's supposed to be the language you are best and most fluent at and you can take it at whatever level you feel comfortable or need to... your mother tongue basically. Self-taught A1 languages are designed to cater to linguistic diversity.Sometimes schools may not offer a class in that language at whatever level you need and they may offer the option to self study.I for example wanted needed to do English A1 at HL, but the HL class was full so I was given the option to attend the SL classes and self-study the HL bits. But I doubt Im registered as a self-taught candidate. Naughty me.