Differences between SL and HL?

global-wolf

Hey guys, I'm in my third year of high school and course registrations are coming up soon for me. I am unable to decide whether to take SL or HL history (20th century topics.) My teacher says that they are pretty much the same in my school, that the SL and HL people are in the same classes and the only difference is that HL as the Paper 3, but I'm not entirely convinced. My question is, what differences between SL and HL are there besides the Paper 3 exam?

For that paper 3 I took History of the Americas this year so I don't think I would be studying too much extra for that. History HL would be my 4th HL class. I'm doing pretty well in History of the Americas and it would be nice if I could get some more college recognition. My schedule for next year, otherwise:

English Lit HL

Multivariable calculus/Matrix algebra (I am currently taking the second year of HL math)

Biology HL

Spanish B SL

Art SL

Edited by global-wolf

My teacher explained it like this:

SL is about Paper 1, with the subject "International relations 1919-1939", where you focus a lot on sources and the relations between the great powers (and other countries involved) at the time.

It's also about Paper 2, which is called "Causes, practices and effects of war". I think this is the reason why we've only been focusing on wars so far.

HL is also about Paper 3, which focuses more on the history of individual countries, which I only find helpful because it helps me see the SL content in a more contextual manner.

So far, I don't think History HL is a lot more work than SL.

At my school, there are actually no differences between HL and SL. All the students go through all the topics, and we are all marked by the same criteria (at least as far as I know). The only difference is paper 3, which isn't that much of a hazzle. Just remember to write an essay about something from the set region (the Americas for you, I suppose), and you'll be fine.