Extended essay topics in math

memo52

Hy guys,

I am an IB1 student and as you all know, all IB students must write an extended essay, which has to include a minimum of 4000 words. I have decided to write my extended essay in math, howeever I am still looking for an interesting topic. My request to you, could you suggest or rather name me some interesting topics (or perhaps research questions), which could be suitable for an extended essay in math.

Besides, you could also suggest some topics about computer science or engineering which are related with math, because I am intersted in such areas.

Already thanks for your help

We are not here to do your work for you. No one is going to think of a topic for you, god forbid think up a research question. It's cheating, you get marks for your research question. Do your research first (if you're interested in what you say you're interested in, it shouldn't be that bad, right?), come up with some ideas, if you need help with assessing the sutiability of your question etc., feel free to ask. But no, we are not going to suggest a topic, area or anything like this. Do your work, everyone has to, so should you.

• Like 1

^ The cold hard truth. LOL

But yes, that is the main point behind the EE. It's kind of a preparation for what you might have to do when getting a masters, or doctoral degree at univeristy. You don't go around asking people what your research topic should be. You need to take something you're interested in, or passionate about, and write brilliant a research paper on it, because it's something you'll really be passionate about.

By asking us, all you're going to get: a bunch of random topics that you won't like very much, from which you'll pick the easiest one, get bored, write something really dull, and not get the best grade you could be achieving. Bask in the beauty of mathematics, you're bound to find something you're interested in. Ask yourself, "why do I love math?", and work from there.