Korean B HL self study

johnnykim

Hi,

I came to Australia(Sydney) from Korea in June this year and started the IB about 4months ago. I chose Korean B HL because its the easiest subject to get a 7(in my case). The language itself is easy for me and while I went to middle school and high school in Korea, I studied a lot of literature so I don't have problem with the that. However, I've read the language B syllabus but I'm still not sure what the syllabus wants me to study and how I have to do the internal assessments.

Could somebody explain to me what and how I have to study for the exams and what am I supposed to do for the IA. Also, can the literature I choose be a poem? Or, do I have to choose a play or novel?

Thanks.

Edited by johnnykim

I would recommend actually talking to your teacher about the IA, because it might be different for different languages. I have french as my language 2. For the 3 in class activities, I had to do a debate, explore the themes in a picture (5 minutes of prep time) and pick a topic to elaborate about. I chose one of my favourite french bands, and discussed the themes in their music.

As for the other part, I have an oral exam coming up in January. Essentially, I'll be given a picture, make a presentation on it, and then have a discussion with my teacher based on what I talked about.

Like I said, it might be different for different languages, so check with your teachers.

PS. It's so cool that you're Korean. I'm a huge fan of K-dramas.

• 1 month later...

Hi Johnny

I recommend you to take Korean "A" self study rather than "B". What are you taking for Language A? O.o