Choosing Courses (Abnormal Situation)

pattrickk

I'm currently in a really sticky situation with my School. Basically I am just beginning my first year of the IB, and I loved all my classes and teachers and was extremely excited, etc. Unfortunately however, because of a law that was passed last year, I was forced to drop IB German SL into IB Biology SL, because I have never taken Biology before and it is a requirement to graduate from my high school. So, now this is what my courses look like:

IB Biology SL

IB French B HL

IB Chemistry HL

IB History Route Two SL

IB Math SL

IB English A HL

The problem with this is that I REALLY want to take German. I have never taken German before, but my whole entire CAS project was to prepare myself to take IB German B SL. So, needless to say, I was a little more disappointed when the IB coordinator at my school pulled me out of my class to give me my new schedule without any prior notice.

In addition to this, my dream university major would be LÉA (Langues étrangers appliquées - Applied Foreign Languages) at a French or Québecois university, and this would naturally also be my career path. However, I am also really interested in chemistry, and although not ideal, I wouldn't mind becoming a chemical engineer or something like that either.

In addition to this, since I have absolutely no experience in Biology, I am slightly worried that this might impact my overall score, and therefore potentially whether or not I get my IB Diploma.

So, I have a few options,

1) Take out IB Chemistry HL and stick IB German B in its place. However, the problem with that is that I would need to take it as an HL course, which I am not entirely sure I could handle because I had been preparing myself for an SL workload. Although, in my school the SL and HL language courses are mixed, so technically it won't be too much harder than the SL course. My main problem would just be acquiring more vocabulary.