Decent safety schools?

timtamboy63

Hey guys,

First some background info:

I got 2200 on my SAT's, 800 in Maths.

For my 3 SAT II's, I plan to get roughly 750-800.

Im about to enter 2nd semester of IB1, so im not too sure what my scores will be, but im pretty sure i'll be predicted 7's and 6's, probably around 38-42..

I'm going to apply to MIT, Harvard, etc and I need a good safety school? Im an international student, so I don't have a state school in the US to go to.

Can you guys make any recommendations?

Edited by timtamboy63

I've actually always wanted to live in Canada, anyone know how the party scene is at McGill. There are three major factors which contribute to which university I want to go to.

1: Academics:They gotta be pretty great, and I'd like to meet smart people :D

2: Partying. I loooove parties, and clubbing :P

3: 'The nerd factor': Call me a geek, but I love tinkering, and making new stuff :D

4(extra): Girls. Pretty self explanatory there ;)

How would McGill shape up? Ideally, I wanna go to MIT, because if 1, and 3, and there are plently of girls and parties around because of Harvard :P

Haha, I like the way you think.

From what I hear, McGill has one of the best party scenes in Canada. Makes sense, since Montréal has Canada's best nightlife, and a club scene that can rival many of the big US cities. Also helps that Quebec's drinking age is 18, while in most other Canadian provinces it's 19.

With McGill, you'll have 1,2, and 4 down. I'm not sure how to judge 3 lol, but I suppose it depends on what faculty you're entering. I've pieced together that it's science; engineering?

Overall, I think McGill would make a pretty good safety school for you. You'll want to apply quick though, if you haven't yet.

Depending on what you want to study, there are many great State Schools you can apply to in the US. ;)

Although, the famous private schools in the US are usually better than the State schools.