LSE Government

ephika

Hi.

I am interested in studying Government at LSE. I graduated from IB in May 2010 and I received a total of 38 points with 766 at HL (LSE requires 37 points with 666 at HL). However, I had a few "easy" subjects like Math Studies (got a 6 in it), but I hope this won't be a problem since I've heard about other people being accepted to LSE with Math Studies (obviously then to the non-math related courses).

I am applying for courses starting in September 2011. What are my chances of getting in? I am planning to study two courses in political science at Stockholm University before this. Could that be a good merit? Then I will have an IB diploma of 38 points with 766 at HL, as well as the Political Science I and II courses from Stockholm University.

Also, I wonder about tuition fees at this school? They're pretty high, aren't they? :blink:

Edited by ephika

For non-Maths related courses, studies is fine.

Tuition fees depend on several factors. Firstly the new government and their evil schemes for a graduate tax... but more importantly, perhaps, your own status. If you are from within the EU you can expect fees to be pretty low (£3,225 was the max. fee per year for last year, it's a bit higher this year). If you're from outside the EU and also outside the Commonwealth, you can expect them to be higher. It's very easy to find the numbers if you just look at LSE's website.

Your chances seem reasonable, assuming you're above the minimum requirements. It's important to note that anything you've studied previously at Stockholm will count in your favour only insofar as it shows dedication to the subject. The fact you've done courses before won't let you off having to repeat them, or give you any 'credit' somehow. So the big way to use these is in your personal statement to show a passion for and dedication to the subject :blink: