Should I take Spanish?

The Fish

Hello everyone! ;)

I am new here, so sorry if I am posting this in the wrong place. I am a Canadian grade 10 student. I hope to study software engineering at Waterloo University.

I have to decide what courses to take next year by the end of this week end.

So I think I am going to take:

English IB

Spanish AB Initio IB

Mathematics IB

Physics IB

Chemistry IB

History IB

TOK

The problem is that right now my school doesn't offer Math, Physics OR Chemistry HL.

So I have 4 SL courses and only 2 HL courses. My IB coordinator said that we mighthave math or chemistry HL if there is enough demmand for it, but she doesn't know.

I could take all of these courses, hoping that I will be able to do the diploma, but I don't know if I will be able to. The thing is, I really am not good at studying languages. So I really don't want to do Spanish.

Is the full IB diploma that big of a deal? Do universities care that much if you have a diploma versus just having IB certificates?

If I KNEW I wasn't going to be able to do the diploma right now, I wouldn't take spanish.

What do you think I should do?

DON'T DO IB AND DON'T DO SPANISH

If your school does not offer HLs in those important subjects it obviously has not/does not have very many students and is therefore not well equipped to provide you with a good enough opportunity to attain high marks

I say do your local syllabus and drop Spanish ASAP - its safer and you'll be a happier person over all

Well, as I said, it isn't possiable for me to do the diploma. But there's no reason I shouldn't do IB certificates, right?

I think courses like Physics IB SL are still more advanced then the normal advanced physics (there aren't AP courses where I live, it's a very rural area).

My plan is to just do individual IB courses and graduate as a normal high school student. What's wrong with that?