English A1 or A2?

skag13

Hey !

Facts:

Norwegian is my mother tongue.

I've spent 5 years at an international school where all subjects are taught in English.

I started learning English at the age of 6.

These are the subjects I'll most likely choose:

Maths HL

Economics HL

Chemistry HL

English A1/A2 SL

Spanish B SL

Physics / Norwegian SL.

The dilemma is: I really want to study physics, but if I do - I'll either have to choose English A1 or drop the Spanish. Spanish is very important to me, so that is not really an option.

Is there a gigantic difference between English A1 and A2 ? Will I be able to cope if I study hard and do my best to become fluent?

I really like physics and I'm not going to have any use for Norwegian.

I want to study International Business in the UK or US, and Norwegian isn't going to help me very much - is it?

So, what do you think? English A1 or A2?

Ok, A1 = literature pure!!! A2 = quite a lot of literature and bits of language

Well, if you chose English A2 you'd obviously have to do Norwegian A1. Just depends in which language you feel more comfortable with (speaking about literature, literary terms etc...). And (taking your text above into account) I guess Norwegian would be the better choice. I think the IB supports that students study their MOTHER TONGUE for A1 - since that's what that subject is for. And English clearly is not your mother tongue, so if I were you I wouldn't go for it. Don't neglect your roots - be proud of speaking(+being) norwegian! It's always a pro to speak foreign languages. And if you went to the US, it would be nice to have it written on your diploma, wouldn't it!? :coffee:

If you want to do business, you won't need physics, will you? And if you prefer physics to chemistry, just do physics instead of it...

hope that helps...