IB EXAMS - adult student

dave.sheppard

Hi,

I'm a trainee-teacher considering doing an IB to familiarize himself with the system but also because I would like to train myself up in another subject (history) and think an IB might be a good place to start (for those that think this is crazy: I also need a Spanish qualification altho i speak it, could do the Chinese ab-initio, wouldn't mind doing Economics as that goes hand in hand with History and don't mind doing some Standard-level studying in some other subjects).

My question is this: could I do an IB diploma over 3/4 years (I've got to work!!) and pick and choose which modules I start with? Would I, for example, be able to finish the relevant Spanish and History modules in the first 12 months and then spread the rest over a few years?

I'd appreciate any advice and thanks to you in advance,

Dave

Are you thinking of teaching yourself all of the material or attending class with students? I don't know about the technicalities of that. Have you tried contacting IBO?

You might want to look at this: http://ibo.org/diploma/development/dponline/index.cfm

And shoot them an email about your situation. They might force you to take all exams in a two year period, but you can always start studying earlier and start taking assessments after a year. Also, you don't have to do the EE, CAS hours, and other IB Diploma Program things if you only want certificates for certain subjects, like Spanish. You could take whichever subjects you wanted at certificate level where you don't have to complete the criteria for the IB Diploma, and the rigor of the courses you take wouldn't be affected.