What IB Subjects for Mechanical or Electrical Engineering?

rish1420

Hello! 

I am an IB Year 1 student, and I am aiming to pursue either Mechanical or Electrical Engineering. As of now my subjects are HL Math, Physics, Chemistry and SL Spanish ab initio, Economics, and English LangLit.

I was wondering if it is possible to either drop chemistry and replace it with computer science HL, or make chemistry an SL subject, and make Economics an HL subject. How would this affect my application for top universities? Would they prefer HL chemistry for what I want to do? Or is it perfectly fine if I make it SL, or change it with Computer Science HL? 

Another question would be, IF it is perfectly fine to take computer science instead of chemistry, could I make computer science an SL, and Economics an HL subject? How would this affect my application for what I want to pursue?

Overall, how would all these different options affect my application for applying to top engineering universities in the UK and US??

Thank you so much in advance, for your answers!

UPDATE: I narrowed down my subject options to these 2 combinations:

1. HL Math, Physics, Economics, and SL Chemistry, English LangLit, and Spainish ab initio?

OR

2. HL Math, Physics, Economics, and SL Computer Science, English LangLit, and Spainish ab initio?

Are these options okay for applying to a top university in the engineering discipline (Mechanical or Electrical) I want to pursue?

Which option would look the best? Or should I my third HL subject be a science subject?

Edited by rish1420

Just from what I know from my friends planning to enter engineering, HL Maths & Physics are the prerequisites. Chemistry is generally preferred, although SL is fine. In some cases, especially if you want to enter computer/electrical engineering, Computer Science is a viable alternative, and it's a very respectable subject to take at HL.