Subject Choices Help Please?! Maths SL or HL? EconHL without prior experience?

cqubie

Firstly, I am aware there are a lot of similar posts around this time round, so thanks for all your time! :rolleyes:

Current choices:

HL:              SL:

History        English Lit A

Biology       Chinese A

Chemistry   Maths

So I am currently studying in the UK and I'm from Hong Kong hence ChineseSL.  I will be taking my IGCSEs soon and really need to make my mind up on my sixth form choices. My school provides both A Levels and IB, I am fairly sure that I will be doing IB but here comes my problems:

1. I am aiming for PPE / History and Economics at Oxford, the Uni Page does say the bare minimum is Maths SL but from what I've read it seems I might be at a disadvantage if I opt for it. I am confident for an A* for Maths GCSE and am currently studying FSMQ as well. However my maths teacher did suggest that Maths HL might be too much for me. So should I try maths HL?  :huh:

2.  Should I do Economics HL instead of one of the sciences despite having not done GCSE Economics before? Would it help for PPE/ History and Economics?

Any suggestions addressing the questions or my subject choices are greatly appreciated. Thanks! 

Edited by cqubie