Math Exploration Help

Lunatic_Strider

Hey guys ,

I am in a wee-bit of a spot here . I need your help for my Math IA topic . So far I have thought of two topics : Time Dilation ( with Lorentz Transformation ) wherein I thought I would model the relative rate of decay of satellite components from a static/stationary point .

The second topic being : investigating why Riemann's zeta function does not produce argument at 1 . 

Thanks in advance for any advice/suggestion .

PS: I am a Math HL student .

Edited by Lunatic_Strider

I am in a wee-bit of a spot here . I need your help for my Math IA topic . So far I have thought of two topics : Time Dilation ( with Lorentz Transformation ) wherein I thought I would model the relative rate of decay of satellite components from a static/stationary point .

The second topic being : investigating why Riemann's zeta function does not produce argument at 1 .

Hi, you should read my opinions about doing maths IA on relativity here.

Now, despite the fact that I think time dilation is a very dangerous topic for HL maths, I think that your topic might work, depending on how you are going to approach the topic. This is because the problem that you've posed is quite specific and might allow some HL mathematics to be used. I like the idea with satellites because it means that you will be using general relativity rather than special relativity. And in general relativity, there are lots of advanced mathematics that you can use, such as calculus (for gravitational fields), or non-Euclidean geometry (for curved space-time). However, I'm not too sure whether this topic is actually appropriate. I need to know more about what types of mathematics you will be using and how you are going to try to solve the problem that you've posed, in order to give you more advice.

For the second topic, I don't really get what you mean.