Deciding between HL History or Economics

Vvi

I'm taking 4 HL's right now. I just switched French SL to HL because I checked university requirements and in order to study International Relations and French, some wanted French HL. I'm in my 2nd year of IB, but still have time to change.

However, I know that 4 HL's is hard work and I want to get the maximum no. of points possible. My other HL's are English, Economics and History. I can't drop English A1 (for obvious reasons).

So I'm trying to decide right now between dropping down to SL in history or economics. Which one is harder, and in which one do people get better marks in? Both of them are relevant to international relations so it doesn't really matter which one goes.

I heard that in economics HL you have a better chance of getting a 7 because there are less people doing HL than SL. True or not?

History HL is harder to get high marks in than Economics.

I chose to do economics HL instead of history HL and I ended up getting a 7 in econ. Nobody that did history HL at my school got better than a 5.

However, if you really enjoy history, then take it. But if it doesn't really matter to you and you just want an easier course, take econ.

That's interesting, because people seem to have very different opinions on whether or not history is harder than economics. According to the statistics, the mean grade for Economics is slightly higher than that for History. However, the difference between the mean grades is so small that it is not really worth paying attention to.

Since I was not sure whether to choose Economics or History for IB, I talked to numerous people who took both subjects. Some say History is easier than Economics, while others say History is harder than Economics.

I ended up doing History, as I find it really interesting.

Good luck with your choices!

I'm not applying to any universities in the States, all my choices are in England and Scotland.