Pencil colouring help

Guest NicoleMarie

Guest NicoleMarie

My name is Nicole. I'm new to IB Survival. I'm actually on here because I have a piece due for IB Art and I have less than two days to complete it. Its a 14 by 18 inch stil life that needs to be done completely in colored pencil. I think I can get most of it done, however, if I can't decide if I'm going to add another color or not, I'm 'screwed'.

Input would be much appreciated at this point.

Here is a picture of my subject. I took the photo, its not copywrighted material. However, since the arrangement wasn't arranged by me I feel like I need to change it around a bit.

SUNP0485.jpg

The arrangement has four colors. Violet, orange, yellow and green. I'm thinking of replacing the yellow-orange spikey petaled flowers(Might be dalias) with lotus blossoms. These only come in pink and white, I think. So, if I were to do that it would add a fifth color to the piece and mess up the color balance of the arrangent. Now I can keep it four colors by replacing the yellow with pink...

Here are my options:

1. Not go through the trouble of changing the flowers and leave it as is... And live with the fact that I didn't change it.

2. Change the flowers mentioned to Lotus blossums, thus adding a fith color.

3. Try to keep the piece 4 colors by replacing all the yellow flowers to the color of the Lotus blossom.

I've also been thinking of adding some orchids...

What do you think?

Edited by HMSChocolate

Add Orchids!Add Orchids!Add Orchids!Add Orchids!Add Orchids!Add Orchids!Add Orchids!

I Love Orchids!

Sorry that probably doesnt help you but wateva

I dont know why your worrying about "colour balance" or wat that is, which probably shows that I dont do IB art and therefore you shouldn't take advice from me. However if would like some fake profound stuff that you can say about your art in the exhibition but it actually doesnt sound fake, I am an expert, I can whip up BS that sounds intelligent for any artwork.