California College of the Arts Essay

stressedfromIB

Hi, I'm applying to California College of the Arts and the deadline is this week! I don't know how to approach their application essay honestly. I'm majoring in Industrial Design. This is what the essay has to include:

A one to two-page essay must accompany your application. Your essay should address the major influences on your decision to pursue art, architecture, design, or writing. It should also address how you see yourself contributing to the CCA community, specifically with respect to the college's values, summarized below:

CCA understands the import role of artists, designers, architects, and writes in solving social, cultural, environmental, and economic problems. The educational experience we provide supports the following values:

• Cultivating intellectual curiosity, risk taking, collaboration, innovation, compassion and integrity.
  • Fostering social justice and community engagement.
  • Promoting diversity on our campus.

Can anyone just tell me briefly how to approach it, or any guidelines.

Thank you!

Don't get frightened by the fact it's an unknown quantity and just read the instructions, is my advice. It's all laid out plainly for you there as to what they want you to write.

- Why did you decide to pursue art, architecture & design and what/who were your influences?

- How do you think you can contribute to the CCA community in terms of:

• Cultivating intellectual curiosity, risk taking, collaboration, innovation, compassion and integrity.
  • Fostering social justice and community engagement.
  • Promoting diversity on our campus.