IB art vs IB music

Sophiawyu

Hi, I'm in a dilemma here. I'm currently in IB art SL, but I'm thinking about switching to IB music SL.

Here's my reasoning:

I've played piano for around 11 years, so I reckon that I have a bit of an edge to music in general. However, the art class overall has a very good atmosphere and I have a lot of fun in it. I think what I'm worried about mostly is the score ill get from the IB assessment. I'm not an amazing artist, but I'm decent enough. I'm also worried about the workload.

Any advice or suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

The important question here is how much do you like/love music and visual art?What are your other subjects and what are your aspirations? I'm assuming you know how to read music notations which will be a great help to you in the ib music course.

Also how much art work have you completed and what are the music students learning currently?

I think it would be easier for you to switch to sl music as you're a practising pianist and you're also required to create a musical composition or perform a personally composed, improvised piece in a group or solo(thats what I've understood from the ib site). there are others options for sl too like stylistic techniques. look at the ib site and the 2011 guide which is supposed to be the latest.

Does your school have a capable music teacher who's efficient and aware of ib music requirements?

• 3 months later...

I did IB Music HL. It was not easy.

In SL, you will have a number of components - the analysis paper, performance, and musical links investigation (This is as of May 13).

Unless you're HL, coursework wise music is not that heavy. The bulk of music coursework is in composition, which only HLs do.

As you're a practising pianist, the performance part will not be of great difficulty.