IA results and final grade

Razer

If you look at the syllabus, Paper 1 is 30%, Paper 2 is 30%, Paper 3 is 20% and the Portfolio is 20%. As an HL mathematician I'm sure you can probably figure out what the implications of 25/40 are in terms of as part of your overall grade.

Scan this thread to find mark boundaries in past years for HL Maths - they're likely to be very similar to the boundaries for this year as well.

• 2 weeks later...

For instance, I got 17/20 + 18/20 = 35/40 on my IA's, and got a 6 in all HL papers (paper 3 was differential equations). Unless you really neglected your IA's, you'll probably score a 4 or a 5 IMO. Good luck on your exams!

Edited by iHubble

• 4 months later...

i got 16/20 for type 1 and 15/20 for type 2, i really can't decide if i should do another one? please help me out!

my teacher said it's completely up to me but i can't help but thinking what if i was JUST below the grade boundary in the final exams and it could have been fixed by getting a better portfolio mark?

It's up to you. 31/40 is not too bad at all. :D It's not a Grade 7, but it is a low Grade 6. I can't tell you what to do, but here are some things you should consider:

What is your aim for Maths HL? Are you aiming to achieve a Grade 7 or 6 or 5? If you're aiming to achieve a Grade 7, I'd probably redo one of them at least.

How are you going in the exams? If you're acing the exams (100+/120) then maybe you'll still be able to achieve a Grade 7 overall even with your Grade 6 portfolio. If your exams are instead really weak, then you probably need the maximum portfolio mark you can get to enhance your chances of doing well at Math HL.