Ab Initio for Complete Beginners

Hi, this is my first post here! I just wanted to ask if complete beginners will be highly disadvantaged taking ab initio subjects. This might appear to be a little bit odd (considering the fact that the subject was designed for beginners) but it is to my knowledge that many ab initio students have prior knowledge of the language (eg. taking them at IGCSE level). With the bell curve system in place, can newbies like me still manage at least a 6 for the subject (assuming a fair bit of hard work, of course)?

Thanks for the help!

Well the whole point of ab initio is FOR beginners, so no I don't think so!

If it helps, I did GCSE Spanish and then did Spanish B. Nobody should be taking ab initio if they did a GCSE or iGCSE in it beforehand - nobody! It's just people messing with the rules. The subject is designed for beginners and although fluent people take B languages and apparently as you say people with experience are now taking ab initio... there's nothing to stop you getting high grades. These levels were designed for people like you and I like to think the majority of people taking them ARE people taking them on a fair footing.

Besides if you didn't take ab initio you'd have to take B and SO many fluent speakers take a B language it's not even funny!

Hi, this is my first post here! I just wanted to ask if complete beginners will be highly disadvantaged taking ab initio subjects. This might appear to be a little bit odd (considering the fact that the subject was designed for beginners) but it is to my knowledge that many ab initio students have prior knowledge of the language (eg. taking them at IGCSE level). With the bell curve system in place, can newbies like me still manage at least a 6 for the subject (assuming a fair bit of hard work, of course)?

Thanks for the help!