Does Maths Studies lower university chances significantly?

LeonieIB

I took Maths Studies this year because I am not very good at Maths.

Does it lower my chances of getting into a good university in the UK?

I do not know what exactly I want to study, perhaps something business related, but not anything with science or Maths.

I've been looking at some requirements and not all allow Studies, but ones that do want a good grade in it.

Of course, after that they can still not chose you...? Anyone got into Business or something similar with Math Studies?

I wouldn't say it lowers your chances significantly. Think of it this way, you're doing way more maths than people who decided not to take maths at a further academic level at all.

http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?t=670656

Business is one of those degrees where getting some experience will definately help. Try get some business related work experience/ job, if you feel like compensating on the maths.

And if you're thinking of doing something business related at an Business school/ University in England, there's so many institutions willing to sponser/ train you. Not going to uni is a surprisingly resourceful site for University/ Non university plans.

http://www.notgoingtouni.co.uk/

• Like 1

Yeah, I guess there isn't as much Maths in Business studies as much as there is in Economics or especially Finance.

I'm not very familiar with Business, but I am considering it right now. My school does not offer it as an IB subject.

I've been looking a little into Business administration. Is it any similar to Economics, though? Because that's not my very favorite subject.

Edited by Kerry_B

That's good. I don't dislike Economics at all, but I do find it pretty difficult at times. Thank you for the link, I will have a look.