How important is your math mark?

supershivz27

Hi, I'm writing the SL Math exam (as many of you probably are) on May 3rd and 4th.

My question is - how important is this math mark for university? I'm a particularly weak math student, but my IA marks have been overall decent (level 5). I want a 6 or 7, but I'm never too confident despite studying.

Do universities still accept students who don't have an amazing math mark? Like a 4 or 5, for example.

Also, for people who have done the SL Math exam in previous years, how hard was it?

Thanks!

Do universities still accept students who don't have an amazing math mark? Like a 4 or 5, for example.

Absolutely. Chances for that are improved if you happen to get high marks in other subjects of course. Some universities may also stress the importance of math less.

It depends on what program you apply for and if math is a prerequisite for that program.

If math isn't required and it's not an extremely competitive program, then your math mark will matter much less or not at all. If math is required then it could affect your acceptance.

But seeing as you're from Canada, they will look at your percentage grade in math and probably won't care about your IB grade.

I know people who got 4s and 5s in math SL who have been accepted to a uni program where math was required, but they're not extremely competitive programs IMO. They're still good programs, but not that hard to get into.

How hard you find the math exam depends on your ability in math. I found it moderately hard, other people thought it was a joke, and a few found it very hard.

• Like 1

• 1 year later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Yeah you're kinda screwed.. but even a 5 or a 4 in Maths SL is better than a 6 or 7 in studies (as my counsellor said).

lol no it isn't. Don't be so utterly foolish. 40 with a 7 in Math Studies looks a hell of a lot better than 37 with a 4 in Maths SL especially for courses which require no maths. That's why maths studies was introduced...