Considering Applying For Law: How Much Would A Lack of Work Experience Hurt Me?

Tony Stark

So, my end goal is to be working in corporate law. Originally, I was planning to study a more academic-based undergrad degree in the UK (such as Oxford's PPE or UCL's ESPS), and then study law at graduate level in the USA, however the more I think about it, the more I'd rather do law in the UK and then do an MBA in the States.

However, one thing that's worrying me is the fact that I have no work experience in the legal field. I've heard conflicting reports on this topic, but the general consensus seems to be legal work experience is highly desired for law applicants. Being a November 2012 session candidate, it's impossible for me to undertake legal work experience between now and my UCAS applications, so my question is: how much will this lack of legal work experience hurt my chances?

For reference's sake, the universities I'd be looking to apply at, in no particular order, are as follows:

- Oxbridge (yet to decide which - any opinions on their respective law programs would be appreciated)

- Durham

- LSE

- UCL (hoping to make it into their LLB/JD dual degree - what are my odds like? How many of their students normally apply for this program?)

- Either Warwick or Edinburgh (opinions?)

Advice would be appreciated.

I don't think it'll harm your application ... but it won't hurt. You still have a year before applications so you can still get some.

They don't expect you to have a lot of knowledge of law when you start so don't worry on that front, they just expect that you've taken the time and effort to start reading something about it to increase your knowledge. If that made sense.

www.ibsurvival.com/topic/18276-advice-for-law-students/page__fromsearch__1 look through there if you have any more queries about law before making a thread again :yes:

Edited by Award Winning Boss