So, being the only Visual Arts HL student in my year (among the history of my school having only had three), I've also noticed, based on your signatures, that many of you don't take an arts subject. Not that I look at this in disdain, given certain university/career choices. But I've been wondering, what are your views about the importance of art, especially its context of being optional in the Hexagon, should it be taken more seriously, etc.

On a personal note, I always found it annoying when people asked me about my hobbies, and when I replied I illustrated, they would usually think I was the kid who just doodled or was the fangirl type person -- until they saw what I meant by illustration; they didn't take art seriously <_<

I like arts, I like graphic designing although I can't say I'm a pro! I love it though. but I'm not good at painting, or drawing by hand. I'm also not very creative... so I thought I would fail Visual Arts if I take it anyway lol.

I actually wish I could take Arts, but at that time (when I chose my subjects) I wanted to study Chemical Engineering (I've changed my mind recently :() so I chose to take two sciences, hence I didn't take Arts.

I don't look down on artists though. they're really awesome. I appreciate any kind of art work, and I think arts also need some kind of talent, skills and artists need to study arts too. it's nothing to be frowned upon. instead I look up to them.

however I think it's sad that Arts is only offered in group 6 and group 6 includes all the other subjects. so many people who want to take another science, another humanities or another language would be unable to take arts.

I kinda think it would be cool if CAS emphasises more on the arts and sports, maybe make some artistic or sporty projects compulsory so that students who don't take arts & sports can still be artistic, and healthy, in a way.

• Like 1