A chance to influence the new Astrophysics Option

MitchCampbell

I'm an IB Physics teacher who has been teaching for 10 years, and now I'm working with the IB to help them develop a new Astrophysics Option. Rather than just design it based on what I think you want, I thought I'd actually ask you for your opinion!

Here's your chance to have a say about the new syllabus! I am including student opinion to help decide which topics are kept in, which are taken out, and also which topics you'd like added. There are two things I'd very much appreciate your help with:

A) First, if you could redesign the astrophysics option, which topics would you find most interesting? Please just write down which of the topics from the list below you think are most interesting (they're in the current IB Astrophysics Option). If you could rank them in order (first is most interesting, last is least interesting, it would really help!)

Your answer could for example look like this: 2,5,3,6,9,.... (that would mean you think apparent motion of the stars is super interesting)

1. Basic structure of the solar system (planets, comets, asteroids)

2. Apparent motion of the stars (why stars appear to rotate around in a night, why the night sky will appear different many years from now)

3. What goes on inside stars (fusion, hydrostatic equilibrium)

4. How temperature and color of stars are related (blackbody radiation)

5. Types of stars (single and binary stars, Cepheids, Red Giants, White Dwarfs)

6. What happens inside a star as it evolves (supernovae, white dwarfs, neutron star, black hole)

7. How we find the distance to stars (parallax method, Cepheid variable method, using apparent brightness and luminosity, apparent and absolute magnitudes)

8. Olber’s Paradox (why isn’t the night sky bright?)

9. Big Bang Model (evidence like redshift and cosmic background radiation)

10. Evolution of the Universe (open, flat, closed universe, critical density)