Subjects for higher level.

Alex .

I have decided that I will not be taking higher level mathematics as it is not a course requirement, this leave me with an open place for another higher level subject.

The subjects that I can choose from are:

• Language A1
  • Psychology

I am not sure on which will be better to take at higher level, please could you help me by giving your honest opinion on why I should or shouldn't take one of these at higher level.

Edit Below

I have never done psychology before, whilst doing GCSE's I have enjoyed English but I am not sure how much harder it will be from GCSE to IB; from SL to HL.

Sorry about the lack of information before. Hope that is enough just ask if you need to know more.

Edited by Alex .

It depends on what you want to study as well...so what do you want to study at uni? Apparently English A1 HL is an easier subject if you live in the UK so I would take advantage of the upper hand you seem to have already :P Also English isn't really seen as a soft subject. You get to analyze some interesting stuff. I honestly find English to be one of the hardest subjects but it's also fun and a nice break from my science HLs XD

If you really can't stand literary analysis and if you're super interested in human thought processes and stuff like that I would say go for psychology. I can't comment much on it but it seems interesting, I would have picked it as a group 3 subject if my school offered it. I'm not sure about its reputation though among universities.

I want to ask you first:

which subject do you like more: literature or psychology?

which class do you enjoy more?

which one is more helpful for/related to the course you want to study at uni?

if you know any graduates from your school, which class have more 7s in the previous years?

which of the two teachers are better?

why do you want to take them at HL?

when answering these questions you'll probably be able to answer your question yourself :)

• Like 1