IB or A levels for medicine?

Alida

Hello, I'm a student wondering about whether I should do A levels or the IB. I want to study medicine at university, and the main thing that attracts me to IB is how highly regarded it is by medical schools, and it would make me stand out I think.

However, the college closest to me only offers Maths Studies, and I'm wondering if that's okay for medical schools, and if it makes me look like a bad applicant. If I took IB I would take Bio and Chem HL, as well as either Psych or History, not sure which yet, and French B, English and Maths studies at standard. I'm decent at maths, but I'm worried about what universities may think of maths studies.

Anyone who is looking to go into medicine, or anyone who knows otherwise, any thoughts?

But that's the problem, the college only offers Studies. And I know A levels are kind of dreadful, but I figured if I manage all A*s, along with having much more spare time for study and more importantly, work experience, I can compensate. However I understand medical schools adore IB, so I'm feeling pretty bummed that because it doesn't offer standard, I may not be a good enough applicant.

When I say close, I mean the only one in the county. I live by the sea, Dorset's pretty ignorant about IB. The college is actually in the top 30 of all IB schools according to The Financial Times. It would already take me an hour to get there, going by bus and then train. So I'm pretty stumped. :/

To get the clearest opinion on the matter, you can always ask the universities you want to attend. They'll clearly voice their opinion on the matter. Just remember to ask a few from each level. Don't just ask Harvard, Oxford and Yale their opinions on the subject. Try asking some less selective schools what they think too.

Just copy-paste an email to all the school, but remember to change the name of the university in the letter lol. :)